Thursday, January 14, 2010

Ruling DPP MP wins late Chafukira’s seat

By Emmanuel Sobilika

The ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) of Ngwazi Dr Bingu wa Mutharika has overwhelmingly won the Lilongwe North West with Fredrick Kamwangala as it’s new Member of Parliament.

Kamwangala, beat three other contestants in Zelesi Gomani independent, Robert Bondo of the opposition Malawi Congress Party of John Tembo and Selemani Jeremiah.

According to election results released by independent Malawi Electoral Commission, Kamwangala got 11, 558 votes with Gomani following way behind with 2,952, Bondo in third position with 2, 758 and Jeremiah in forth position with 653 votes.

The opposition UDF party chickened out of this contest as they failed to have a candidate in this by-election.

This is a sweetie victory for the ruling DPP after the death of late Ishmael Chafukira who died under mysterious circumstances in South Africa late last year.

This was Bondo’s second loss in a Parliamentary election within a period of 10 months.

He lost in his own seat in the May 19th election before John Tembo of the MCP decided to impose him on the people in Lilongwe North West in these 12th January by-elections.

In a related development, the opposition United Democratic Front of Friday Jumbe has returned the Machinga South East seat in by-elections held on the same day.

According the Malawi Electoral Commission, the seat has been won by Donnex Mpuzeni of UDF with 8,796 followed by Heston Beston Mleme of the ruling DPP with 7,043 votes, Monfort Misunje independent 2, 594, Yohane Khomoli 965 and Adamu Chikapa came last with 712.

The Machinga South East seat fell vacant after the previous MP Reverend Wilson Ndomondo was thrown out of Parliament for contesting in an election when he was a convict-Malawi Digest.

No comments:

Post a Comment